Exercise your rights, lose your children.

I can understand why someone may have called the tip-line. For example, perhaps another parent at the school saw the photo and was concerned. What I take issue with is the way this was investigated (or not investigated, as the case may be) and executed by Child Services and the cops. 

First of all, why was Child Services involved at all? There was no crime committed, nor was there any reason to believe there was. Having access to guns in one’s home is not, to the best of my knowledge, a reason for Child Services to investigate or take a child from their home. If that’s the case, then we have much bigger issues in this country. From what I have read elsewhere, this kid was a registered hunter, and his dad was a registered firearms instructor. 

That leads me to my second point: the total lack of any preliminary investigation or inquiry here. Several cops knew this kid’s dad from the gun range, including knowing that the father was a certified firearms instructor. They have probably shot guns with this kid at their range. Not once did anyone look into that history, the family’s hunting and firearms licenses, etc. They simply showed up at the house with Child Services officers, presumably to take someone’s child into state custody because of their parents’ decision to exercise their Constitutional rights. That’s a major problem.

About originalbosfan1

Like the title of my page, I am bitterness personified. I decided after reading another stupid article about another stupid person that I have to get my thoughts out there. My wife is sick of hearing me rant, so now it's the internet's turn to listen. Thank you very much for your time. That is all. Seriously. You can go now.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

